It’s NO Vaccident!

Vaccident?

Sooo..What is a Vaccident? I had never heard this term until I was doing some research a few months ago. As often happens in my research “journey”, I stumble down many paths and a rabbit hole or two!  Here is where my journey led me a few months ago….

I was researching about MTHFR gene for a blog post =>I read about California screening for MTHFR (as a remethylation defect) in newborns => Continued searching for more info on SNPs of MTHFR and was focusing on a well-studied, thermolabile, SNP called 677C that is often associated with high homocysteine (and thus increased cardiac risk) =>  I came across a Facebook posting about MTHFR in an article on the NIH’s website (which summarized research funded by NIH funds)  exploring: “Adversomics” which discussed some of the genetics behind adverse vaccine reactions, including MTHFR 677C and increased vaccine adverse reaction and smallpox vaccine => I read further looking up some of the cited references and found an editorial where the term “Adversomics” was used again along with the term VACCIDENT.

As I read what the author was defining as  adverse effects of vaccines on certain sub-populations of people,  it struck me that he was describing them as if they were currently  as random as a car crash/accident.  And that is when I paused with disbelief…. In this journey with my daughter I have been an astute observer of those around us, those who have similar symptoms and diagnosis, similar tendencies and similar struggles, and while my observations are presently anecdotal, I do not believe they are un-scientific.  As a scientist, I have always believed that: discoveries are made while observing the nuances and not the norms.

“There are two possible outcomes: If the result confirms the hypothesis, then you’ve made a measurement. If the result is contrary to the hypothesis, then you’ve made a discovery.” -Enrico Fermi

Here is what I have observed
1. I have never observed a community of individuals who have more adverse, bizarre, abnormal, idiopathic, never been seen before reactions to foods, medications and vaccinations, than I have seen in the mitochondrial disease and autistic community.
2. In the autism community, vaccines have been the topic of much controversy for many years, yet one observation in my mind, outweighs the rest,  when you ask a mother of an autistic child about their family health history, you will 8-9 times out of 10, hear that a parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, or sibling has a history of allergy, asthma, autoimmune disorders (rheumatoid arthritis, MS, lupus,etc.), migraines, chemical sensitive, or hypersensitivities to medications and pharmaceuticals. Often you will hear that a grandparent is or has suffered from Alzheimer’s or Parkinson.

3.  One other area I have observed to have a high incidence of autistic children are offspring of our military (particularly mothers/fathers who have served in active duty in the Gulf War), these individuals may have received more vaccines than the general population, due to their deployment (particularly ones the general population may not have such at the Anthrax vaccine), usually before or around the time they have children.
4. Individuals (and their family members and those around them) who are immune compromised are at highest risk for adverse reaction to LIVE virus vaccines:  whether that immune compromisation looks like eczema, psoriasis, allergies or severe combined immune deficiency, and whether the vaccine is the Flumist, Rotovirus, MMR or smallpox,  there is a risk for harm documented by the CDC: here, here and here.

5. Individuals who have bio markers showing inefficient folate metabolism, impaired methylation, low glutathione levels, and vitamin deficiencies (including but not limited to B12, vitamin D, and carnitine deficiency), are also at high risk for adverse reactions to vaccines because their ability to rid some of the additives and preservatives is impaired, and because their methylation cycle and mitochondria may be impaired.

So my question to you is…. Is it a Vaccident?

Is it as random as a car crash,
Who is injured and who is not?
Or are there family histories, bio-markers, genetic testing, and nutritional screening that all need to be taken into account,  prior to giving a vaccination (or medication, anesthesia, or supplement)?  Is it a safe assumption that every child can tolerate the recommended vaccine schedule as recommended, regardless of their nutritional, immune, or genetic status,  just as safe as it is to assume that every person riding in a car will tolerate an accident the same way, regardless of their seat-belt or car-seat status?

In order to uphold the Hippocratic oath for all children (and adults)-

“First, Do No Harm”

…we ALL must advocate to FIRST. DO. NO. HARM. to all people, but especially to those who are susceptible to succumbing to a VACCIDENT BEFORE that VACCINE INDUCED INJURY occurs.

About Empowered Advocacy

www.EmpoweredAdvocacy.com Pediatric Patient Advocate
This entry was posted in ADHD, Advocacy, Allergies, Asthma, Autism, Genetics, Glutathione, Medical, Methylation, Mitochondrial Disease, Mitoxic, MTHFR, Toxins and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s NO Vaccident!

  1. Laura says:

    The two papers mentioned should have made headlines. Now, I will tell people that my son is a victim of a VACCIDENT.

  2. Nikki says:

    Well this whole thing hits very close to home for me. With the laundry list of “subsceptibility” to vaccine damage none of my kids should have ever been injected with infection or toxins. Homo mthfr mutations, family history, chronic infection etc equals immune systems ready to blow with my 2 youngest. Now they suffer while they fight to recover…

  3. This has been on my mind a lot too as I have been researching this. The biggest problem I see with medicine today, along with the suppression of investigation of root causes and corruption, is the one size fits all method of treatment. My husband and I are both victims of vaccination injuries ourselves – while the problems caused were not disabling, they are life-threatening in their own way. And given our genetic profiles with MTHFR I feel we were very lucky to have been spared anything worse. We’ve had all the travel vaccinations, hep B, etc. So we will be very cautious with our own children. Thank you for bringing this up and I hope it is just the first of many articles and discussions that will happen around this issue.

  4. Anonymous says:

    My son is heterozygous for 2 copies of the MTHFR genes. He has a major vaccident at the age of 2 and regressed. We have spent the last 5 yrs trying to repair that damage.

  5. Jennifer says:

    This is awesome, Kristi, keep doing what you do!

  6. Beth Lambert says:

    Excellent post, Kristi!

  7. Thank you so much for this post! I’m thrilled about the link to the Adversomics paper. I hadn’t heard the term before, but it’s a concept that I introduce my friends to whenever the topic of vaccination is raised. I don’t blame vaccination for my daughter’s downward spiral toward autism, but could it have contributed due to genetic susceptibility? I believe science will ultimately find this to be true. Thank heavens, my daughter is approaching recovery through our biomed efforts.

  8. Mel Smith says:

    If all of you go to http://www.jimhumble.biz and read about MMS (Chlorine Dioxide) and see how it works and how it should remove all the toxins from those Kids bodies. I have been using it for 6 years and I never get sick anymore.

  9. meg says:

    Question…my daughter is 3 and is “up to date” on all her shots. She started with HORRIBLE eczema around 6m old. Now we have saw a neurologist twice in the last 3 months because her tic is progressing. My son who is 18m is now developing small patches of eczema. Could this be the result of “vaccidents?” Now I am beyond concerned!
    Oh I am adopted and have no clue about mt medical history BUT as a child I had a tic, my hubby and I are both super sensitive skin, we both have eczema AND I have 4 major medication allergies! From penicillin to benadryl!

    • Meg… I do believe that eczema is a sign something is awry in the body.. An immune/allergic reaction. We kept a food journal in our house noting what our daughter ate and what symptoms got better or worse with certain foods to try to track down the culprits!

  10. Pingback: Things I Would Tell My Younger Self • MTHFR Living

  11. Pingback: MITOXIC- Why Mercury may not be good for any of us, especially those with Mitochondrial Disease | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  12. Pingback: Vaccination: A Conversation, Pittsburgh, PA | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  13. Karen says:

    I just read your article with great interest. My daughter along with thousands of others are suffering autoimmune diseases amongst other problems after receiving the HPV vaccine. If you have come across anyone working in this area please let me know.
    We also have 2 Austic children in our extended family & your right about the grandparent of one having Parkinsons, the parent of the other child was adopted so her medical history is unknown.

What do you Think? Comment here!