16 of 50 Babysteps ~ Baking Powder

Baking Powder

After the recent research that I did on Aluminum, we made this switch for our baking needs, in order to try to reduce the amount of Aluminum that we were ingesting. The main concern I found in my research was that Aluminum was not vital to any biologic process in our body (aka not natural to the body and could thus be viewed as a toxin), and that it has toxic implications to our mitochondria (the part of our cells that produce energy). For these reasons, we are attempting to reduce it in our household!

The aluminum-free brand does contain cornstarch which I am not crazy about because since it is not Organic Baking Powder, I cannot confirm if it is GMO free corn or not. Do you have an aluminum free baking powder that you recommend? Please comment below!

About Baby(food)Steps

Taking Babyfoodsteps to a healthier, happier family!
This entry was posted in 50 Baby Steps, Toxins. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 16 of 50 Babysteps ~ Baking Powder

  1. Patti says:

    I use Rumford Aluminum-Free Baking Powder. It’s labeled as GF, and non-GMO on the package and states again after the cornstarch that it is non-GMO. It is made by Clabber-Girl, but it also says it’s made in a peanut free facility, so hopefully it’s good 🙂
    I don’t believe we’ve had problems with it.

  2. Ugh!!! I can’t believe I missed cornstarch in baking powder! Of course it has cornstarch. I will be on the lookout. Good find on the aluminum. I’m glad you’re in our corner.

  3. Pingback: My Wish… for 2013 | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  4. Tardis_blue (@tardis_blue) says:

    Hain makes a totally corn-free baking powder that is pretty good. Very expensive, and not quite as good as Rumford, but pretty good. We can’t do corn, or I’d be using Rumford, too.

  5. Pingback: Lady A’s Doughnuts- Gluten Free / Casein Free / Soy Free / Low Salicylate | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

What do you Think? Comment here!

