Q is for Quinoa

quinoa bag

Quinoa from Costco (4lb Bag for under $10)

This next topic amazes me because about a year ago I had no idea what QUINOA was, let alone could I pronounce it.  Recently while I was visiting my mom I asked her if she had ever tried this food and she looked at me funny, wrinkling her nose a bit and said “What’s that?” (one of those moments when you feel your roles have reversed, “come on try it you may like it, MOM!”)

So for all of you who are sitting in the place I was just a few short months ago,

Quinoa is

“(pronounced keen-wa), a grain that comes from the Andes  Mountains of South America. Quinoa’s origins are truly ancient. It was one of  the three staple foods, along with corn and potatoes, of the Inca civilization. Quinoa was known then, and still is known, with respect, as the mother grain. We  call it the “Supergrain of the Future.”

Quinoa contains  more protein than any other grain; an average of 16.2  percent, compared with 7.5 percent for rice, 9.9 percent for millet, and 14 percent for wheat. Some varieties of quinoa are more than 20 percent protein. ” (from http://www.quinoa.net )

This grain is also GLUTEN FREE which is one reason I was led to it in my search to find new foods that I could eat on an elimination diet for breastfeeding Baby A.  And though we have not yet introduced this food into her diet yet, I have found it a welcome addition to my diet, PLUS I have no clue what else to write about for the letter Q!

So I thought I would share some recipes and some tips on where to buy Quinoa!

first WHERE TO BUY: You can find Quinoa in many grocery stores such as HEB, Whole Foods, etc. My most recent find though is buying Quinoa in a 4lb BULK bag at Costco for less than $10. Considering many grocery stores sell if rot $4-5/lb this is a great savings! I prefer the pre-washed Quinoa which gets rid of the bitter outer layer.

now WHAT TO DO WITH IT: You can cook Quinoa much like you would rice or couscous, mixing 1 part Quinoa with 2 parts liquid ( I like to use chicken broth for added flavor instead of water!) Cook until tender and most of the liquid is absorbed.

Check out my friend Wendy’s blog post complete with her favorite Quinoa recipe here.

A few new-found-friends have shared some yummy recipes for quinoa- thanks Colleen and Amy M.:

Quinoa Salad

Black Beans and Quinoa 

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Please let me know if you have ever tried Quinoa or what your favorite Quinoa recipe is?

I found this one today that I think I will try out next week… sounds like a good snack for the beach bag!

Quinoa Nut Clusters

Enjoy!

About Baby(food)Steps

Taking Babyfoodsteps to a healthier, happier family!
This entry was posted in ABC's, Grains, Organic. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Q is for Quinoa

  1. Colleen says:

    Oh, thanks for all the recipes! Can’t wait to try them!

  2. Girl you have been a bloggin’ queen lately. Awesome job 🙂

    • Baby(food)Steps says:

      thanks for the support Sarah! Can you believe it has been over a year since babyfoodsteps was born!!

  3. Debbie says:

    I can’t wait to try the Tabbouleh! We’ve gotten it in the Ready, Fresh, Go! section and it’s excellent.

  4. I buy quinoa flakes here and they make a wonderful substitute for bread crumbs in cooking. Also they can be cooked just like oatmeal for a nourishing hot breakfast. Many many uses for this truly wonderful super food.

  5. Joan Ablahani says:

    HI Quinoa is my one of my favorite staples. I buy the big bag at costco and always have a big pot on hand in the refrig. I actually cook it with 1 1/2 times water. So I use 1 cup quinoa to 1 1/2 cups water. I add some salt and garlic powder. After 15 min cooking covered like rice I add a little butter and parmesan cheese.
    For breakfast I put my poached eggs over either rice or quinoa. For lunch I have blackbeans over quinoa. Or for dinner it makes a great side with chicken and a vegetable.
    If you leave out the garlic powder you can use it as a cereal adding a little half n half and brown sugar. I think its a perfect food, so high in protein and fiber. Joan

What do you Think? Comment here!

