P is for Planet Box

planet box

planet box

My son started kindergarten this year, and thus began my “new” job of packing lunch EVERY DAY!! We started with a regular insulated lunch bag and lots of plastic containers, baggies and the like. but after week 1 of my son coming home with little to none of his lunch eaten, I began to get frustrated. he said it was because he didn’t have time to eat. When I dug a bit further I realized it was because if he could not open one of his plastic containers, he had to sit with his hand raised until someone could help him ( that same very nice someone was also opening little plastic containers and juice boxes for 200+ other children!)
So my mommy brain went into “fixit” mode… and viola! found this awesome (and pricey, but so far worth every penny!) lunch-solution : The Planet Box!!
This stainless steel wonder box can be opened with one finger and goes right in the dishwasher with no plastic lids to loose or plastic bags to waste!!! I love it and so does my son! He has had a clean “box” nearly every day since we started using it… no food wasted all in his belly!! yipee! The other thing I love is the “packing” part, it is easy to have a balanced lunch with portion control by filling up each hole with a fruit, complex carb, protein, veggie and small sweet!

And while we are talking about P… the planet box has helped me baby step closer to reaching my goal of eliminating PLASTIC from our kitchen and food storage. I am a long way from accomplishing this task, but after all the research I have read lately about the hormone disruption that plastics can have on our and our Childrens health, it has motivated me to try to at least move toward safer plastics. I found this link to be helpful…

http://aoec.org/PEHSU/documents/bpa_patient_july_8_08.pdf

and when in doubt look on the bottom of your container… if there are numbers 3, 6, 7 on the bottom in the recyle triangle then THROW it OUT!! the safer plastics are those with the numbers 1, 2, 4, 5.
Whatever you do, please, please, please do not microwave ANY of your family’s food in plastic. Heat allows plastics to release chemicals faster and easier into the substance they are in contact with (take my word on this one, my lab project for an entire semester was to measure how much toxic gas was released from a common plastic upon heating, while I was working as a co-op at a US chemical company!!!!!)

 

    

 

 

  

 

 

About Baby(food)Steps

Taking Babyfoodsteps to a healthier, happier family!
This entry was posted in ABC's, Baby Step, Fruit, Organic, Snacks, Veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to P is for Planet Box

  1. Andrea says:

    Cute blog, and thank you for posting about the lunch box! I have to order some NOW. P.S. I learned about your blog from V.A. (abbreviated for her privacy). =)

  2. Beth says:

    Love it! With our first kindergarten fast approaching, I love this idea! Thanks for the inspiration, you are one awesome mommy!

  3. thanks for getting my mom some info on autism. she came home and was actually excited to discuss it with me what she found out! Although, i have been saying alot of this stuff to her a awhile but i think she thought i was being to extreme!! I very much appreciate it! you rock momma!! keep getting info out there it really makes a impact on non informed or lost parents on there battle for there child. i immediately plugged in and try to get as much info as possible! Thanks again…im sorry im Marys daughter.

    • Baby(food)Steps says:

      YOu are so welcome Lindsay….I enjoyed chatting with your mom too! Hope to one day meet you when I am in FL again! please keep in touch and best of luck on your road to help your kiddos! YOU are their BEST ADVOCATE!

  4. Pingback: 5 of 50 Baby Steps- Peanut Butter | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  5. Ali says:

    hi which built bag do you use and how do you get on with it?

  6. Pingback: Off to School We Go! Planet Box in tow! | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  7. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day ~ BabyFoodSteps Style | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  8. Pingback: Back to School~ Planet Box Style | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

  9. Pingback: Back to School 2015- Planet Box lunch! | Taking Baby{food}Steps…

What do you Think? Comment here!

