C is for Crockpot Lasagna

I did it!! After about 25+ attempts in my 8 years of marriage +10 years of dating myhusband…I made a lasagna that my significant other ATE..and LIKED! Yipee!

I originally found the recipe from Kraft Food and Family Magazine but modified the ingredients to fit our baby(food)step way of life now! Maybe that is why it tasted so yummy and my hubby liked it…no preservatives, no growth hormones, and no pesticide… 😉

Ingredients

1 lb. ORGANIC GRASS FED Ground beef
1 jar  ORGANIC spaghetti sauce (got 4 jars for around $9 at Costco!)
1 cup Water
1 container  (15 oz.) Organic Ricotta Cheese (no growth hormones…found at WHOLE FOODS)
1 pkg. (7 oz.) Shredded Mozzarella Cheese (no growth hormones…found at WHOLE FOODS)
1/4 cup ORGANIC Grated Parmesan Cheese
1 Egg
2 Tbsp.  chopped fresh parsley ( I used dried organic parsley)
6 Lasagna noodles, uncooked ( I used WHOLE WHEAT)

The night before I BROWNED meat in large skillet; drain. The next morning I Stir in spaghetti sauce and water (to meat). In a separate bowl, I Mix ricotta, 1-1/2 cups mozzarella, 2 Tbsp. Parmesan, egg and parsley. Then I SPOON 1 cup meat sauce into slow cooker; top with layers of half each of the noodles, broken to fit; and cheese mixture. Cover with 2 cups meat sauce. Top with remaining noodles, broken to fit; cheese mixture and meat sauce. Cover with lid.

This is the BEST PART!

COOK on LOW 4 to 6 hours or until liquid is absorbed. Sprinkle with remaining cheeses; let stand, covered, 10 min. or until melted.

It was really that simple and that good! I have an oval crock pot and it yielded easily 6+ servings! This would be GREAT for a get-together because it stays nice and warm and ready to serve when everyone is ready to eat!

About Baby(food)Steps

Taking Babyfoodsteps to a healthier, happier family!
This entry was posted in ABC's, Pesticides, rBGH, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to C is for Crockpot Lasagna

  1. Sounds absolute delicious! Love that you use organic and whole foods products 🙂

What do you Think? Comment here!

