A-OK Pantry Makeover

This  post is dedicated to my mom, the most organized person, perhaps, in the world! She has earned her nickname from my dad, as the “white tornado” and can put the organizers on shows like “Clean Sweep” to shame!  She helped us unpack and organize what seemed to be zillions of boxes when we moved in our new house and I shared with her then that I dreamed of an “organized” pantry. She encouraged me to buy the “containers” for the project back when we went shopping after just moving in. And now, almost 6 months later, I finally got around to finishing the project. So thank you Mom! And YES, it does feel sooo good to have this little corner of my life organized…. now if only I could do the same with my office.

Here is the BEFORE photo: ugh! what a mess!

pantry7

 

and along with the BEFORE mess here is my BEFORE crappy labeling system (post it notes!)

pantry6

After a quick trip to Michael’s for the labels (found that we preferred the thinner ones in the dollar section because the more expensive card stock ones edges keep peeling off the jars):(  We also found this cool CHALK pen that allows you to wipe it off the labels and re-do them (brilliant!! Like when you run out of something and want to change the jar to another ingredient! or change the exp date on something!)

pantry20

to add to the canisters that I had already purchased from Garden Ridge (4 pack glass canisters for around $13) and VIOLA!

pantry1

We use “A-ok” in our house to designate ANY food that is safe for Lady A to eat!               We made her shelf in the pantry on the bottom so that she can easily get to her food and serve herself when needed!

Ahhhhh and finally the AFTER picture:

pantry5

About Baby(food)Steps

Taking Babyfoodsteps to a healthier, happier family!
This entry was posted in Allergies, Baby Step, Craft, Organic, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A-OK Pantry Makeover

  1. Shirlene Cerceo says:

    Yes she is an organizer & the pantry is beautiful. Nice tribute.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Blessings, Shirlene

    >

  2. Maureen Cooper says:

    Ooooooooooo!! I love before and after pictures and I LOVE what you’ve done with your pantry! The “A-Ok” labeling system is fantastic!! I am putting this on my to-do list for mid-February. Definitely need and overhall in the food closet! Thanks for sharing!! :D

  3. Anne B says:

    Yes, your Mom is a great organizer. One of the many things we love about her. What a nice column.

What do you Think? Comment here!

